Home

Permission Levels

Permissions control what features a user has access to and are applied manually on a per-user basis.

In this article you will find:

  • Available Levels
  • Assigning Permission Levels
  • Restricting Content Moderation

Available Levels

Localist Permissions are not a hierarchy. For example, a Platform Admin must also be checked as an Event Admin in order to access events in the Admin Dashboard. Suggested permission levels are marked with a single asterisk* and non-admin permission levels are marked with a double asterisk**.

Levels Who should have this permission? Example What other permissions should they have? What does this permission enable?
Users Everyone on your platform including all Admins Students Regular users do not need any other permissions – Login to your platform

– Submit events to the calendar for review
– Express interest for an event
– Leave a comment, review or photo on an event
– Invite friends to events
– Interact with friends on the calendar

Trusted** Anyone you trust to submit high-quality events Group/Org/Venue leaders or managers User – Their events skip the pending queue and are published without review
Event Admin Anyone you trust to approve events and add events without review Staff User – Publish events without review
– Edit events on the calendar
– Approve/reject events submitted by regular users
– Access the calendar’s Admin View
Featured/Sponsored Anyone you trust to pick out and highlight key events Staff Users + Event Admin – Select events to display in a sliding carousel
– Select events to boost and highlight
Group Officer** Anyone managing a Group or Department Landing Page Group/Organizational Leaders User – Approve/reject a Group’s/Department’s followers
– Edit a Group’s/Department’s description
– Send messages to a Group’s/Department’s followers
Group Admin Anyone you trust to create Group or Departments Staff User – Publish Groups and Departments
– Edit all Group/Department details
– Access the calendar’s Admin View
Channel Admin Anyone you trust to create Channels Staff User
Event Admin*
– Publish Channels
– Edit all Channel details
– Edit Channel layout
– Access the calendar’s Admin View
Platform Admin Anyone you trust to manage the calendar Calendar Managers, Developers or Designers User
Channel Admin*
Group Admin*
Event Admin*
Feature/Sponsor*
– Edit all calendar settings
– Edit calendar layout and branding
– View all users
– Assign permissions
– Add/edit Filters
– View Activity logs
– Conduct bulk uploads
– Add feeds
– Access the calendar’s Admin View

Non-Permission User Designations

Verified:  After an account is created, Localist will send an email to the user’s email address asking them to verify their address by clicking the included link. If a user does not verify their account this flag will remain unchecked and they will not receive any emails from Localist. They will still be able to use the calendar as a logged in user.

Pending:  If a user uses the Invite Friends feature to send event details to an address that is not already saved on the platform/connected to a current user, the email will be listed as a pending user.

Assigning Permission Levels

1. In the Admin Dashboard, navigate to Users > All Users

2. Select a user’s name from the list.

3. Find the Permissions section in the middle of the user account page

4. Select the appropriate level(s)

5. Save Changes

– Note –

User must always be checked. This is what allows them to login to and interact with your platform (i.e. submit an event, I’m Interested, leave a comment, etc.)

Restricting Content Moderation

You can restrict content moderation by limiting an Event Admin’s permissions to only designated Filters, Groups, and/or Departments. These designations apply to admin functionalities, such as approving events and publishing events without approval, which means an Event Admin can use the public submission form to submit an event to all available Filters.

How to Restrict Event Admins

1. From the Admin Dashboard, navigate to Users > All Users or use the user-specific search field.

2. Select a user’s name from the list.

3. Below the Permissions section of the user form, you’ll see Allowed Filters and Excluded Filters. These drop-downs correspond to the Filters, Groups, and/or Departments you have previously set. Parent/Child Filter items are listed in the drop downs.

4. Select which Filters, Groups, and/or Departments you want the user to have access to.

  • Allowed: Access to only this Filter.
  • Excluded: Access to all Filters except this Filter.

– Note –

Selecting a Parent Filter Item will allow the user to access all its Child Filter Items.

5. Save Changes

– Note –

Once a user is Allowed to Filters, Groups, and/or Departments, they will only have access to those Classifications. In comparison, once a user is Excluded from Filters, Groups, and/or Departments, they will not have access those Classifications.

Allowed

If you Allow someone to a Filter, Group, and/or Department, they have permission to moderate (approve/reject) events in their designated Classification and submit events to other Classifications via the Public Submission Form for approval by an Event Admin assigned to that Classification.

Excluded

When you Exclude someone from a Filter, Group, and/or Department, this prevents an Event Admin from interacting with anything associated with that Classification. This also means that they will not be able to submit an event via the Public Submission Form for approval.

How does it work?

  • When adding events, only the Classifications the Event Admin is Allowed to will appear in the form for them to choose from.
  • When moderating events, the Event Admin will only be able to see and edit events that have at least one of their Allowed Classification items.
    • Example: If an event has the Filter “Health & Wellness” and “Community”, an Event Admin Allowed to “Community” will be able to see and edit the event because it has at least one of their Allowed Filter Items assigned to it.
  • The Pending Queue will automatically update to show events with an Event Admin’s Allowed Classifications or update to show no events if none of the pending events match at least one of their Allowed Classification items.
  • Similarly, if an Event Admin with restricted permissions receives the Pending Digest email, then the email will include all pending events, but when the Event Admin navigates to the Pending Queue in the Admin Dashboard, they will only be able to see and moderate those events matching their Allowed/Excluded Permissions.

– Best Practice –

We suggest having at least one Event Admin with access to all Classifications (leaving the Allowed/Excluded sections blank). If a user submits an event and forgets to add the Classification item the Event Admin is Allowed to, the Event Admin will not see the event in the Pending Queue for moderation.

 

 

Related Articles: Event SubmissionsGuidelines & User Help | Single Sign On | Pending Queue | Intro to Classification